Into a Routine

I’ve been in my new home for 3 weeks now and I’m really starting to enjoy it. I’ve now got Phil and Karla into a routine. They take me out to go potty right away when they get up (usually around 5:30), feed me breakfast and then we play for a little bit. I really like to chase Phil around the island in the kitchen. I never catch him, but I’ll get him one of these days. After we play, they take me into the bathroom while they get ready for work. I wish they were bringing me in there because they want to spend as much time with me as possible, but I think that they’re worried I’ll leave a mess in the kitchen (which they do have a point…). Then they take me out again to go potty (I usually have to go #2 after I eat) right before they leave for work.

I still hate being left alone during the day. I’m okay with being in my crate as long as I can see my humans, but when they leave for the day I just can’t handle it. Those days are pretty much the worst. I can only hold my bladder for a few hours, so my crate is always a mess by the time they get home from work. The first couple of times this happened they got really mad at me, but I think they understand now that my bladder is still growing, so they are a little more patient.

When they get home from work, they take me outside right away and then it’s suppertime, playtime and finally pooptime.

On a training note, I’m still very small, so I’ve been working on getting used to going up and down stairs. Each step is taller than me, so it’s kind of scary. Today I jumped up all three steps each time I went outside. I made sure that both Phil and Karla watched me jump up the stairs so that they could see how strong I am getting.

Phil is still trying to get me to ring the bell on queue when I have to go to the bathroom. I don’t know how he expects me to ring the bell when I’m in my crate for 90% of the day. I mean, really, does he think I’m some type of super-puppy that can ring the bell from inside her crate? Come on! All they need to do is just give me some more out-of-the-crate time and I’ll get the hang of it. Wishful thinking, I know…

Until next time my puppy pals…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura Wocken
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 23:31:52

    Bella – I can understand how lonely it must be all day by yourself. Ask your humans to put a photo of themselves next to your crate. Whenever you miss them, you can gaze lovingly…

    I also think you need something to do during the day – a smart dog like you must be bored to tears. Ask for some comic books to read!

    Love,
    Grandma

    Reply

    • pkwocken
      Jun 19, 2010 @ 04:38:39

      @Grandma,
      Thanks for the suggestions! I think a picture outside the crate could really help the loneliness. I’m a little concerned about the comic books, however, mostly because of my lack of opposeable thumbs. Thanks for checking in! –B

      Reply

Leave a Reply

