Love is in the Air!

It’s been a little bit since I wrote last, but I’ve been awfully busy. I’ll try to recap my week as best as I can. My humans were beginning to think that they were in charge, so I had to make sure that I took back the reigns. They think that they can just tell me to “Come here!” or “Stay there!” and expect me to listen. I want to explore, push the boundaries and get into mischief. That’s what I do! That’s what all of us puppies are meant to do! So I’ve decided that when they tell me to “Come here!” that I’m going to stay right where I’m at. When I don’t listen, they get mad and then try to walk over and pick me up. As soon as they get close to me, I bolt. I get a good laugh out of it. One day, Phil had to chase me around the yard a couple of times before he caught me.

Thanks to Laura W.’s comment on last week’s post, I suggested to Phil and Karla that they give me some things to preoccupy myself when they’re away. They wouldn’t give me any more toys in my crate because they said that they didn’t want to clean off poop from the toys when they got home, but we were able to compromise. They set a picture of themselves next to the crate and turn on some music now when they leave. Phil must have taken some advice on separation anxiety, because now he growls at me before leaving me alone. Other humans probably think he’s crazy, but it’s kind of comforting to me. I prefer listening to a little lite rock because it puts me at ease and allows me to nap easier when they’re away.

Every once and a while I have to go potty when I’m in my crate, so when my humans come home they have to change out my crate towel, but overall, I have had only a couple of accidents on the floor over the past week, so I’m getting better at “holding it,” which makes Phil and Karla VERY happy.

On a romantic note, Tank (the German Shepherd next door) and I went on a date the other night. Well, kind of. Phil, Karla and I went next door for a bonfire with the neighbors the other night. Tank and I tried to sneak off together, but our humans busted us. And then, last night my humans and I were hanging out in the front yard and Tank came over to see me. Phil and Karla told him to go home, but I thought it was cute that he wanted to say “Hi.” It’s too early to tell, but I think there’s some real chemistry between us. I think it really is true that opposites attract! I’m smiling now just thinking about him.

Good night everyone and sweet dreams!

(photo courtesy: angiemckaig, Flickr)

Leave a Reply

