Bella the Hunter AND Bella the Hunted

A couple weeks ago I mentioned that I’ve been investigating the miniature wildlife outside our front door. Well I continue to be fascinated by these little critters. Lately the warm weather has brought out crickets and grasshoppers. They’ll hang out on the driveway and so whenever I go out to go potty at night, they’re always out there waiting for me.

I’m still trying to figure out how these grasshoppers and crickets are able to jump so far. I spot them on the driveway and when I go over and sniff around, they’ll jump away from me. Then I chase after them and then they’ll jump away again. Well after doing this for a couple of nights, I’ve gotten smarter and quicker. Tonight I got to the grasshopper before he could jump away. Unfortunately, Mr. Grasshopper didn’t like being swallowed so he kept trying to get out. After I swallowed him I felt a weird tingling in the back of my throat as he was trying to jump out. I spit him out and then he hopped away. That is, until I caught him again. He didn’t taste any better this time around, but that didn’t stop me.

It’s one thing to be King of the Driveway, but I humbly learned the other night that I’m not invincible. At night Dad and I have been hearing a really creepy sound. Mom and Dad say it’s like living in Jurassic Park. It turns out that there are two hawks that have a nest in the pasture behind the house. At night I can hear them flying talking back and forth as they fly around the neighborhood. Three nights ago, Dad saw one of the hawks perched on the roof of the house across the street.

Tank and Tank’s dad were out the other night and they had some scary news. Apparently one of the hawks spotted one of the other dogs down the street and swooped down to try and pick him up. The dog dodged the hawk, but just barely. The scary thing is that this dog weighs twice as much as me. After Dad and I heard that news, he and I stick pretty close to each other when we’re outside.

I found out one thing for sure: it’s one thing to King of the Driveway, but it’s no match for the King of the Skies.

Leave a Reply

