Summer Recap

Wow. September already! It seems like the summer just flew by! There’s already a little chill in the air, which excites me to see what the changing seasons will bring. Thinking back on my first summer and how fast it went, I remembered that a lot has happened that I forgot to tell you about.

I spent a lot time out at Grandma and Grandpa Schaefer’s home. They live out on a lake, so when I was outside, I usually hung out by the water. I went fishing with Dad a couple of times and then one weekend, Mom and Dad took me swimming. THAT was an experience!

"How do I cast this again?"

I was so mad at Dad when he first put me in the water. He just set me in and expected me to keep my head above water. No kidding! He just let me go and swam away. Lucky for him, my short little legs can move pretty quickly. He couldn’t swim away fast enough. Eventually, I caught up to him and climbed onto his back as he was still swimming. I figured that he made me do enough work as it was so he could do the rest of the swimming.

No such luck. Apparently, I was too good of a swimmer that Mom and Dad took me out swimming that whole weekend. I was really getting the hang of swimming by Sunday afternoon. Dad would be out on the swimming raft and Mom would stay on the dock. They would set me in the water and I’d have to swim either to the dock or to the swimming raft. Then they’d pull me out of the water to give me a chance to catch my breath.

One time, I was out on the swimming raft with Dad when a wave came along and tossed me off the raft. I was definitely NOT expecting that. After a quick panic attack, I quickly regained my bearings and took off for the dock. After that, I refused to go anywhere near the edge of the raft for fear that I would fall in again.

Another time, I was out on the raft trying to dry off when Dad actually pushed me off the raft. Again, I had a quick panic attack before swimming towards the dock. I was on a straight course for Mom when all of a sudden, I started drifting off to the side. I don’t know why I stopped going straight, but I ended up swimming right into a patch of lily pads.

My little legs got caught up in the stems and I started to freak out. Luckily I was only a few feet from the dock, so Mom went into rescue mode and jumped in to save me. She wasn’t even in her swimsuit, only in her normal clothes.  I might have made it out okay, but thanks to Mom, I was able to get to dry land quickly. Needless to say, I was done swimming after that.

The rest of the summer seemed to go by in a blur. I’ve spent as much time as possible outside since it’s been so nice out. Whether it’s mowing the lawn with Dad, running laps around the house, checking out the cows on the other side of the fence, chatting it up with Tank or hunting bugs, I love the outdoors!

Time to head off to bed, I see Mom turning down the bed. Sleep tight…I know I will!

Good Night! 🙂

B

Leave a Reply

